Peter Stuart Memorial 2019

NorthShoreChess Logo North Shore Chess Club

Peter Stuart Memorial 2019

Grand Prix Logo

Class ONE Event

Entry Details

Entry Fees

'Open' tournament: $55 per player.

'B' tournament: $45 per player.

'C' tournament: $45 per player.

GMs and IMs Free.

No entries accepted after 8.30am Saturday 24th August 2019 or when full.

$10 per player Late Fee for entries received after 21st August 2019.

Club account for payment:12-3008-0301266-00 (state name & “PSM”).

Ensure you have submitted the Entry Form, either online below or email Helen Milligan at

Entries CLOSED

Event Information


Saturday 24th to Sunday 25th August 2019.


Northcote Community Centre

Northcote Community Centre, corner College Road and Ernie Mays Street, Northcote, Auckland.


Open to all players.

Non-NZL players must have FIDE ID issued by their chess federation.

NZL players without FIDE ID must provide full Date of Birth.


Three separate 5 round Swiss tournaments, FIDE and NZCF rated where possible.

'Open' tournament for players FIDE rated 1800 and above. Juniors rated below 1800 may be accepted.

'B' tournament for players rated below 2000.

'C' tournament for players rated below 1500.

The organisers reserve the right to shift a player to a different tournament if they feel an inappropriate one has been entered.

Time Control

90 minutes each player plus 30 seconds increment per move from move one.

Half point Byes

A player may take a half point bye in any one of the first three rounds. Notice must be given before the start of the tournament.


Free tea/coffee/juice will be continuously available to players.


Start Time Day & Date
Players Meeting 9am Saturday 24th August 2019
Round 1 9.20am Saturday 24th August 2019
Round 2 2pm Saturday 24th August 2019
Round 3 6.40pm Saturday 24th August 2019
Round 4 9.20am Sunday 25th August 2019
Round 5 2pm Sunday 25th August 2019
Prizegiving 6pm (estimated) Sunday 25th August 2019

Prize Fund

First Second Third
'Open' tournament $400 $300 $150
'B' tournament $200 $120 $80
'C' tournament $200 $120 $80
Plus Grade/Junior Prizes to the value of $200 per tournament

PLEASE NOTE: No player may claim more than one prize. In the event of a tie, prize money will be shared.

Players eligibility for Grade and Junior prizes will be announced before round 3.

Players eligible for open or grade/junior prize would receive the highest monetary value prize.


Peter Stuart Memorial 2019


Position Points Player
'Open' tournament
1st equal 4/5 CM Alphaeus Ang
1st equal 4/5 Evan T Capel
1st equal 4/5 FM Ben Hague
under2100 equal 3/5 Giovanni A Thornton
under2100 equal 3/5 WFM Jasmine Haomo Zhang
under2100 equal 3/5 WFM Vyanla M Punsalan
under1900 equal 2.5/5 Felix Xie
under1900 equal 2.5/5 CM Richard Meng
under1900 equal 2.5/5 Caleb Wright
'B' tournament
1st equal 4.5/5 Clinton A Wells
1st equal 4.5/5 Hao Tang
3rd equal 4/5 Allen Li
3rd equal 4/5 Huy Minh (Timothy) Ha
under1600 4/5 Allen Li
under1475 equal 3.5/5 Narasimhan Lakshmi Ravi
under1475 equal 3.5/5 Boyuan Zhang
'C' tournament
1st equal 4.5/5 Leo Noel Bainov
1st equal 4.5/5 Mathew Steadman
3rd equal 4/5 Tim Zhang
3rd equal 4/5 Kevin Shen Su
3rd equal 4/5 Kedar Walke
over16years 4/5 Kedar Walke
under16years 4/5 Kevin Shen Su
under10years 3.5/5 Bevis Jiang
under10years 3.5/5 Lucas Xiao
under9years 4/5 Tim Zhang

More photos in .

L-R: Daniel Johns (secretary), Evan T Capel, CM Alphaeus Ang, FM Ben Hague, Neil Gunn (vice president).

Gino Thornton.

L-R: Felix Xie, CM Richard Meng.

L-R: Clinton Wells, Hao Tang.

Huy Minh (Timothy) Ha.

Allen Li.

Narasimhan Lakshmi Ravi.

Leo Noel Bainov.

Kedar Walke.

Kevin Shen Su.

Tim Zhang.

'Open' tournament

'B' tournament

'C' tournament


Printable Flyer/Brochure:


Printable Flyer/Brochure:

Creative Commons License
This work by New Zealand Chess News is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Creative Commons License
This work by New Zealand Chess News is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.